South Pennine Road Club


Firstly some history to help understand why time trial course have strange codes:-

In 1890, cycle races were banned on public roads;  events prior to that were often interrupted by horse-mounted police, who ran down racers and attempted to throw sticks into their wheels.

A small number of authorised races took place on a tiny number of velodromes but rebels started staging races with a cunning way to avoid the wrath of the police. Starting at intervals of usually a minute, riders raced against the clock (as cyclists meeting on the road were not allowed to race against each other). Because of the legal situation, riders dressed from neck to foot in black to make themselves less obvious, never wore numbers but always carried a bell. Races started in the countryside at dawn on courses referred to only in code. Even the cycling press was asked not to say where a race was taking place and details to competitors were headed "private and confidential" up to the 1960s.

Hence deciphering British time trial course codes is seen as one of the black arts.,,,

The CTT produces n annual handbook where dates, times and organisers details are listed for riders to enter. However the  courses are still only described by cryptic letter number codes such as A10/19. Details can also be found on the CTT website.

The most important part of the code is the letter which denotes the geographical region where the race is taking place.

As a clue:-
A = Central district, this is our district that includes Derby.
K = Midland district which covers Burton, Warwickshire, Coventry etc.
O = North Midlands district which begins North of Matlock & Bakewell.
J = Manchester district including Cheshire and the courses West of Uttoxeter.

Central District Open Courses 2018

Course Distance Details Location
A10/3 10 Miles Margidunum - East Stoke - Car Colston Gunthorpe
A10/13 10 Miles Seagrave lane - Six Hills - Shoby X - A46 Seagrave / Thrussington
A10/14 10 Miles Long Bennington - Gonerby Moor - A1 Long Bennington
A10/16 10 Miles Rowsley - Bakewell Rowsley
A10/19 10 miles Etwall - Foston Etwall
A10/34 10 miles Breedon Circuit Coalville Wheelers
A10/C   Closed Circuit Darley Moor
A25/2 25 miles Granby - Bingham - Harby - Bottesford Granby
A25/3 25 miles Tuxford - Sutton-on-Trent - Grasthorpe - Tuxford Tuxford
A25/11 25 miles Etwall - Uttoxeter - Etwall Etwall
A25/12 25 miles Darley Dale-Bakewell Darley Dale
A25/16 25 miles Griffydam - Long Whatton - Diseworth Griffydam
A25/34 25 miles East Stoke - A46 - Stragglethorpe - Fanrdon - East Stoke Farndon
A25/37 25 miles Seagrave - A46 - Stragglethorpe - Six Hills - A46 Seagrave / Thrussington
A30/9 30 miles Etwall - Uttoxeter - Etwall Etwall
A50/5 50 Miles Plungar - Bottesford - Bingham - Harby (x2) - Granby Plungar / Granby
A50/6 50 Miles Etwall- Blythe Bridge Etwall
A50/13 50 Miles Seagrave-Farndon-East Stoke-Six-Hills Seagrave / Thrussington
A100/4 100 miles Etwall - Blythe Bridge - Uttoxeter - Rocester - Etwall Etwall
AH/2 25 miles Rowsley -Youlgreave - Monyash Rowsley
AHC/1 0.8 miles Riber (0.8m) Matlock
AHC/3 1 mile Holly Lane (1.0m) Ambergate
AHC/6 1km Bank Hill Matlock
AHC/9   East Bank Winster
AS/6 22 miles South Muskham - Ollerton - South Muskham North Muskham
AS/19 30km Griffydam - A453 - Breedon - B5324 - Griffydam Griffydam

work in progress